Can your humi temp be too low??

FN in MT

Gorilla
My basement is finished, does not have water/humidity issues, but unless I heat it....it's quite cool most of the time. Currently we are at 48-50 degrees. In the summer it seldom goes above 65 unless I open the outside doors or a window.

Will I have issues with my humidor as my Man Cave IS the basement. And...what should I set my humidity at considering the low temp??

Fn in MT

Bear

SilverBear
My basement is finished, does not have water/humidity issues, but unless I heat it....it's quite cool most of the time. Currently we are at 48-50 degrees. In the summer it seldom goes above 65 unless I open the outside doors or a window.

Will I have issues with my humidor as my Man Cave IS the basement. And...what should I set my humidity at considering the low temp??

Fn in MT

I don't see anything wrong with the lower temp, but I'm by no means an expert on the topic...
FWIW bump to the top in hopes that someone who knows sees this and answers.

Great question. :tu

SilverFox

Seven Down 33 to Go
Lower temp means a slower aging process for your cigars. Based on what I just read in the Minn Encyclopedia, the humidity is the larger concern.

FN in MT

Gorilla
Thanks for the replies.....should have the new Aristocrat by the end of the month........with any Luck and some speedy Truckers. :tu

FN in MT:cb

BostonMark

Lowland Gorilla
Because RH is so directly related to temp, you may find that it is harder to keep it as high as 65% at a lower temp, but if you can get it that high then go for it.

jkorp

·~«{·B'lieve Hon·}»~·
The only thing to watch at the 48-50 range is your humidity. It gets hard to stabalize RH this cold. If your using a cooler or something plastic and air tight you'll be fine. If you are using a wood humi that breaths you'll just need to keep and eye on it. :2

Martix_agent

Young Ape