Cigar Jar?

CIGma_Chi

Professor of Herfology
Hey folks,

I found a large jar amongst my many knick knacks and figured it would make a decent cigar jar. I've never used a jar as a "humidor" before so I was wondering if anyone out there has tried it. Any tips or tricks? Caveats?

I attached a small round humidification device to the inside of the screw-top so it hangs nicely over my sticks. I lined the bottom of the jar with a few pieces of cedar from boxes and such to impart a little bit of flavor and to help humidity. All I need is a small hygrometer to keep an eye on things.

I haven't filled it yet but I figure it could hold up to 75 pretty nicely, if tightly packed in there. A churchill stands up easily in the middle of the jar just beneath the lid.

Have any of you used other non-conventional modes of storage?

R

RumblePen

Don't make the mistake I did, put a hydrometer in there to test things out. If that jar seals tight, then you could have some trouble with over humidification. I added a silica water pillow to an Upmann jar that sealed air tight and within a day I had beads of water on the cellophane and when I finnally took a reading, it was at 99%. See, if it's air tight, then moving the cigars from a 70% RH humidore directly to the jar should result in a 70% RH in the jar. Atleast that's what happened with my upmanns.

CIGma_Chi

Professor of Herfology
Thanks for the heads up! Good call. I'll be picking up the hygrometer on Monday and testing out the whole set-up for a few days before dropping in the precious cargo. :)

radar

Alpha Silverback
Been using jars for years, have about 8 or 9 of them. I use humitubes with beads for humidity, no problems yet.

floydp

They call me Fwanker
radar said:
Been using jars for years, have about 8 or 9 of them. I use humitubes with beads for humidity, no problems yet.