Evolving or Devolving?

sgoselin

Bull Goose Gorilla
The title says it all. I have been seriously smoking cigars for 40 plus years now and then some. In that time I have been through a few transitions, but not many. A few of you guys probably know me or at least my posts although I have been laying low as of late. I have spent a couple of decades now dedicated to the Havana cigar. Time was when I would not smoke much of any thing that did not come from that Island South Of Miami. I studied the dates and the factories and spent a small fortune on cigars. I usually alocated about $25,000.00 per year on cigars. I layed down vintage Davidoffs and Dunhills and just about anything else one can think of. Especially old Bolivars. So what the f**k happened?

I state without apology that I like what I like. My current favorite cigar is Flor de A. Allones that I get from JR Cigars. I also love El Capitans and Top Hat from Holts. That is what I smoke these days and I love it. My tastes have changed. I think that the 3 cigars that I mentioned rival anything I have ever smoked. Period! Tonight I smoked a Top Hat corona with a scotch and soda on my front porch and I was in heaven. Based on that experience I just ordered several more bundles at $14.95 each. Trust me when I say that finances do not drive my smoking decisions. I can smoke anything I want and I like what I like. I love cigars and I always have. I am enjoying cigars more, right now, then ever.

So I thought that I would throw this out there just to stir the pot a bit.

tallypig

Gorilla
I think you have answered for yourself-at least in some way. "I state without apology that I like what I like." I'm not sure its you going forwards or backwards, but rather what you like right now-especially after a lifetime of chasing down what was important to you at the time. I think the most important thing is that you enjoy the cigars-regardless of their pedigree. Here's to you and another scotch for that matter!

icehog3